How – and When – to Compromise

I tell them I can yield on a lot of in which my district is not particularly emotionally involved. The liberal part of my party might have an ideological problem with some of these concessions, but if you can exploit the glaring need for decent education and employment opportunities, I’ll take the hit as the price of politically practical consensus. Because as long as Republicans keep saying that education is not an issue for substantial increased federal funding, then I believe that it’s in the best interest of business to step up to the challenge of providing for an educated, productive workforce, because it will serve to increase their profitability, productivity and competitiveness.

I, for one, want American business to have a fair advantage over foreign business, so they’re not going to have a great problem with me on matters of trade. I’m ready to give something up, but they’ve got to give up something for the larger good in return.

-Rep. Charlie Rangel from And I Haven’t Had a Bad Day Since: From the Streets of Harlem to the Halls of Congress

commentary

