Breaking Down Negotiations

My first job offer wasn’t for a position I wanted. Thankfully, I had an interview lined up for a different job. I told the initial offer that I needed time, but would get back to them – hoping that I’d get a second, better offer. I did get a second offer, but while the position was more interesting, the pay was worse rather than better.

Knowing that I wanted the job, I told the woman who offered it that while I wanted to accept her offer, another position had offered me a better salary. She didn’t understand – because my phone was broken. There was something wrong with my phone’s speaker so that you could only hear every third word – and that was when my reception was impeccable. So, I repeated myself once, twice, and again until she understood that I wouldn’t be accepting her job offer because I had another offer with better pay.

“So money is the issue?” she asked.

“Yes,” I agreed. “I want to accept your offer, but I really can’t accept a lower salary. If you could even just match it…”

“You really need to get a new phone,” she told me. “I can’t hear you. Listen, though, don’t do anything, I think I can make this work. Can I get back to you?”

“If you could get back to me within the next week, yes, absolutely,” I agreed.

“What?” she asked. “What did you say? It’s hard to heard you.”

“Yes!” I enunciated clearly.

“Ok, I’ll get back to you later today,” she said, and ended the call – to our mutual relief.

She called me back a few hours later and offered me 5% more money. I took the job, and kept the phone. Apparently, a broken phone is one of my strengths in a negotiation.

commentary

