Vegetarian Sloppy Joes

I have no time.

I have few ingredients.

But if I don’t have consistent meals, I cry.

So, to avoid that, I throw all the components of a healthy meal together and let it cook while I diagram how coal is made into steel and calculate the percentage increase to a health insurer’s bottom line of hiring one additional claims processor (not enough).

This week’s solution to my ongoing problem is loosely based on a real recipe by Budget Bytes.

Vegetarian Sloppy Joes

2 cans chickpeas

1 tbsp oregano

1 – 2 tsp black pepper

1 tsp salt

1/2 onion

3 cloves garlic

Combine in the food processor until nearly smooth.

In a frying pan, saute

1 – 2 tbsp oil

1/2 onion, chopped

Once the onion is translucent, add the chickpea paste and

1/2 package of triple-washed kale (you can add spinach and wash it yourself. Practically, you could wash the kale yourself. Personally, I’ve washed kale once and have no interest in repeating the experience.)

When the kale is bright green, add

1 can tomato sauce

1 tbsp basil

1 tsp pepper

1 tsp pepper

1 tbsp honey

1 – 2 tsp lemon juice

stir until the mixture is the consistency of sloppy joes.

Serve on hamburger buns to great acclaim. Or be like me and pack it up with brown rice for this week’s lunches and dinners.

commentary

