Mexican Eggplant Soup

You might have a cold, but I don’t. The credit for my outstanding health goes to this soup. Because if I was thinking of getting a cold, it would kick it right out of me.

That was such a purposeful statement. Obviously, it skipped right over the kitchen dreams – and nightmares – which brought all the ingredients into my kitchen at the same time.

What actually happened was a serious of less than fortunate recipe attempts. I tried, for the first time, to roast eggplant slices in the oven without using a recipe. I burned the first batch to a crisp – it turns out the even eggplant will cook completely and then turn to ash if you cook it at 375 for 20 minutes and then 500 for 30 minutes more. The second batch, made with half an eggplant to cut my loses, I cooked with oil and garlic at 500 for 20 minutes. It was acceptable, but not something I’d make for people I liked. Which left me with half a raw eggplant and no plan for it.

Undeterred, I revamped a recipe for unstuffed cabbage in order to cook it in the crockpot. After you add two pound of ground meat and 2 cans of diced tomato, there’s only so much room for chopped cabbage in a small crockpot. About half a cabbage worth, to be exact. So half a cabbage remained, forsaken, in my fridge.

I made corn salad. People ate it. I had left over corn salad. My soup absorbed it.

Finally, Goya’s salsa verde – you can’t have a fully stocked kitchen without it. Made in Mexico City, certified kosher in Mexico City, touted by residents of Mexico City – and me.

Mexican Eggplant Soup

1 onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, pressed

1 tbsp oil

1/2 eggplant, cubed

1/4 head of cabbage, chopped

1 c corn

6 oz salsa verde

4 to 6 c water

1 tsp to 1 tbsp salt

Saute onion and garlic, when translucent, mix in eggplant and until pre-cooked (five to ten minutes). Add remaining ingredients and bring to a boil. Once the soup is boiling, lower the flame to a simmer, put a lid on the pot and allow to cook for two hours, or as long as desired.

commentary

