Birthday Madness

I wished my coworker a happy birthday, and we got to talking about celebrating birthdays. Most people seemed to have problems celebrating growing older, but she and I were overjoyed at our increasing ages.

“My mom is very into birthdays,” I explained to a coworker.

“Oh, mine is too,” she assured me. “She calls me every year on my birthday, at the time I was born. Now it’s fine since she’s on the west coast, but when I was in college is was awful.”

“What time?” I asked.

“6AM,” she said with sorrow. “In college is was terrible. She’d call me at 6 and wake me up to say ‘Happy Birthday.’ I’d say ‘Why do you have to call? I know when I was born.’ But now? It’s nice. She calls at 6 her time, so I’m already at the office.”

“Oh, we don’t do that,” I told her. “But my mom calls me on fractional birthday.”

She looked at me with confusion.

“You know – half birthday, 3/4 birthday, 7/12 birthday.”

She continued to stare at me.

“We’re serious about birthdays,” I explained.

“That’s just birthday madness,” were her final words on the matter.

Happy Birthday!

commentary

