Signature Dish: Summer Side Salad

Everyone has a signature dish, some people just don’t know it yet. Mario Batali has pasta. Ellen has spicy potatoes. I have…well, until recently my signature dish was my dad’s 1-2-3 Rice Salad. Somehow, a signature dish which is someone else’s signature dish doesn’t seem quite right. So, I decided to make a signature dish of my own.

A signature dish is defined as a dish with which everyone associates you. This can happen if you make something frequently, or only ever make one thing. Or your a signature dish could be that one dish you discuss ad naseum. Of course, some people gain their signature dish by making one thing particularly well. I do not aim to cook any one dish to perfection – but I do aim too have a signature dish that pleases. The first step to accomplishing that is to have a signature dish of my own.

It came to me suddenly, inspired by a friend’s recipe.

 

My Signature Dish: Summer Side Salad

1/2 can chickpeas

1 can black beans

1/2 to 1 lime, squeezed for the juice

1 tsp cumin

kernels, cut from 2 ears of corn

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 to 2 heavy shake of red pepper flakes

salt, to taste

parsley, for looks

drizzle of olive oil, to hold it all together

Mix and serve.

commentary

