The Blueberries Must Go

Why would anyone purchase blueberries out of season? Because they’re just that good when they are in season. Luckily for you, now is prime blueberry-time.

However, last July I was lured into a blueberry purchase by a local fruit stand. $1 for a pint? Hard to say no. But the season was passing, and I had to use them all immediately. So I used google as it was meant to be used and found a rash of berry recipes. I read among them, looking for a hands-down winner. Instead, I found a competition.

I read through and found a winner of my own. The judges tested the recipes and found a different winner.

Try them out and pick a blue-ribbon recipient of your choice.

Seasonal Blueberry Cake

1/4 c margarine

1 1/2 c sugar

2 eggs

1 c soy milk

3 c flour

2 tsp baking powder

sprinkle of salt, if desired

1 pint of blueberries [approximately 2 c]

Cream margarine and sugar. Mix in eggs and soymilk. Stir in flour, baking powder, and salt. Add in blueberries; mix gently.

Bake in 9×9 circular pan at 350 for 45-55 minutes.

Lemon Glaze

1/2 c confectioner’s sugar

1 tbsp lemon juice

zest of 1 lemon

Mix together all ingredients. Drizzle over cooled cake.

1 Comment

  1. Hi! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Great blog and terrific design and style. dgddeaefccfa

commentary

