Crockpots: The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread

I invited 8 people for a meal. The night before, a 9th person invited himself. A 9th person who, you know, eats food. And that’s when I paniced. It was clear to me that the food I had cooked, which could comfortably feed 8, would not be enough. People were going to go hungry. I was going to cause people to go hungry.

I asked Special Correspondent Ellen for help. She told me I was over-reacting. But – she added – if I was going to make something, just in case, it should be soup.

I grabbed the crockpot. With a little slicing and dicing I threw in:

3 zuchinis – they were excess from a stir-fry that wouldn’t fit in the pan

2-3 carrots

1 onion

1/2 head of garlic

1 c of mixed beans

my saving grace: 1 jar of salsa

6 c of water

 

the next day, I had enough soup to feed 13. It’s a pity I didn’t invite more people.

All of this, possible with a simple crockpot. Also known as the best invention since sliced bread. Don’t take my words for it: the http://www.ou.org/life/food/recipes/jamie-geller-on-fast-cooking-with-a-slow-cooker/

commentary

