National Perfection Radio

There are few things I know how to do perfectly. I thought making hard-boiled eggs was one of them. I learned my method from the newspaper, and it seemed pretty perfect.

Hard-Boiled Eggs

Put the eggs in a pot, with enough water to cover them, and bring the water to a boil. Once the water reaches a rolling boil, cover the pot, turn off the heat, and let sit. After 10 minutes, run the eggs under cold water. Then roll them on the counter so that the shells crack easily. Peel off the cracked shell.

NPR told me I was wrong. While I was doing it well, I wasn’t making perfect hard-boiled egg. To do so, I needed to add a teaspoon of baking soda to the boiling water, rinse the boiled eggs in ice water, and literally blow the shells off the hard-boiled eggs.

Thankfully, I now know 29 other things I can do perfectly. I owe it all to National Public Radio. Or as we’re now calling it, National Perfection Radio.

commentary

