Recipe Box: To pack or to pitch?

I’m moving. But before that can happen, I have to pack. I’m refuse to pack everything, so things must go. One of those things might be my Bubby’s recipe box.

To pack or to pitch?

To pack or to pitch?

Before you protest, let me explain that Bubby had double or triple copies of most of the recipes she used – and she still dictated them to me for my files. So it’s not a matter of losing her cooking. It’s an issue of figuring out which recipes in the box she used and which she kept in hopes that, one day, she’d be called upon to make Lemon Angel Halos.

This, I believe Bubby made. And maybe once I'm in the new kitchen, I will too.

This, I believe Bubby made. And maybe once I’m in the new kitchen, I will too.

I wasn’t kidding about the Lemon Angel Halos.

Given that Bubby didn't cook with sugar, I can't imagine how this got into the box.

Given that Bubby didn’t cook with sugar, I can’t imagine how this got into the box.

I have no intention of making those cookies. But that coupon at the bottom looks like it has potential –

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

– except that it expired May 21, 1954. What a pity.

1 Comment

commentary

