One Day I Might Be Prime Minister

If people were given jobs based solely on their method of making chicken soup, I would be the next Golda Meir.

I’m so awe-struck by myself, I can only marvel. And give you our respective recipes:

Chicken Soup, by Prime Minister Meir*

Chicken Soup, by me

1 or 2 onions, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

2 or 3 carrots, chopped

1 zucchini, chopped

1 parsnip, chopped

chicken giblets and other chicken pieces, previously frozen or unwanted

Enough water to cover everything

1 bay leaf

dill, to taste

pepper, to taste

salt, more than I use

parsley, to taste

Put everything in a pot. Uncovered, bring to a boil. Cover, and lower the heat to a simmer. Allow to cook as long as possible. If time permits, refrigerate and skim off the fat. Or you could follow Anna’s advice. When asked how she made her soup so rich; “When the fat rises, I just stir it back in.” I’m sure Golda would agree.

 

*Thanks to Israel’s State Archives, I can assure you that the soup is not a state secret. Possibly because everyone wanted to know. Makes you wonder what would have happened if some nice ladies had written and asked the Prime Minister for the nuclear reactor codes. “I wouldn’t normally ask you this, but seeing as how you’re the only mid-eastern democracy, I was hoping that you might be willing to share your codes for a nuclear reactor? If would make our next cookbook so special.”

1 Comment

commentary

