Welcome to the Real World: Peasch Edition

The pre-peasch story that didn’t publish:

“I’m not cleaning the fridge for Peasch this year,” I declared to my dad.

“Welcome to the real world,” he replied.

To that rather cheery and accepting phrase, I launched into a long-winded explanation of why I would not be cleaning the fridge in my apartment. Now, like then, it was a superfluous and one-sided argument.

When I finished up, a while later, dad concluded his thought; “In the real world, you only clean what you have to. You don’t clean everything.”

Hello, real world! Meet chamatzdik kitchen. Now say goodbye to the chamatz, because it’s being sold.

commentary

