Fabulous Dessert

My favorite beautician goes by the name of Fab. The salon she works at demands that all employees chose their moniker, though they don’t mention that to customers. The first time I went there, I was greeted by Sweetheart. Sweetheart was extremely friendly, so I felt comfortable asking if Sweetheart was really her name. She smiled widely, and told me it was. She was such a sweetheart, I believed her.

I believed her until Firebird washed my hair, and introduced me to my hair-cutter Dynamo. Then the jig was up; Sweetheart might have fit her name, but Firebird was calm and Dynamo seemed more likely to take a nap than take the town by storm. I’ve no idea who chose those names, but they did a very poor job.

Fab is a different story. Fab was totally Fab, from her cutting-edge fashion to her glamorous smile.  When she asked me what kind of haircut I wanted the only appropriate answer was the obvious one; “Fab, please.”

As she cut, we talked about sisters and movies, jobs and expectations. Slowly but surely, I moved the conversation toward her name. I threw the word fab into our conversation – not hard in this day and age – and casually added; “How did you get the name Fab”

She gave a fab chuckle, and told me that she’d gotten the interview after a friend tipped her off that there was an opening at the salon. Though she’d been cutting hair for a long time, she’d never worked in a salon, and was thrilled to get the interview. In her excitement, she’d answered every question with a “Fab.” The salon owner, delighted, took to her right away, and insisted that she go by Fab. So Fab she’d been for over two years, and Fab she intended to stay.

The hair cut was fine, but the experience was fab.

Perhaps if you are Fab life is always fabulous. For others of us, you have to make the fabulous happen. Last week was long, so I decided to make the fabulous happen on shabbos. Google, my trusty sidekick, was sent out to search for fabulous dessert recipes. After its due diligence, I looked through the results.

Google didn’t do half-bad, but it’s results needed the human touch to go from fabulous to truly fab.

Coconut rum balls? No

Cinnamon bread-pudding? Intriguing

Minty Pretzel Cookies [based on a true recipe]? Totally fab

1/2 c margarine

1 1/4 c sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

2 1/4 c flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 c chocolate chips

1 c peppermint candies, hammered to a pulp

1/2 – 1 c pretzels, crushed

Cream margarine and sugar; mix in eggs and vanilla. Combine flour, baking powder and baking soda; mix into sugar. Add chocolate chips, peppermint candies, and pretzels. Bake at 350 for 10 – 15 minutes. Optional: drizzle melted chocolate chips over the cookies or dip the cookies in the melted chocolate and sprinkle with the remaining peppermint candies.

commentary

