Processing Joy

What could prompt the question: “Are you the happiest girl in all the land,” from Special Correspondent Ellen?

The sight of my new food processor, gleaming, on the countertop.

A few months ago, my food processor died. It was an ugly death, and not one I wish to discuss. The first days after its untimely demise was when I discovered how much I relied upon it. I needed it for so many things: parve pudding, soup, chummus – just everything.

I tried to console myself, and move on. I kept reminding myself that one soup can replace another – that I didn’t truly need a food processor. In those first days I began to accept my life stripped of the comforts of a food processor. Then shabbos came, and it hit me like a load of bricks: there could be no potato kugel. No potato kugel. No potato kugel. No potato kugel. I was inconsolable.

Inconsolable, and potato kugel-less, I remained until my birthday intervened. On that occasion my parents, tipped off to the depth of my loss from my incessant refrain of sorrow, replaced my lost food processor. They did more than replace it – they gave me a shiny, new, and space-saving 10 cup food processor. More than the gift of this Cadillac of food processors, they gave me back potato kugel. In their honor, I share our family potato kugel which began life with a friend who hates potato kugel. Bad start to a great kugel.

Potato Kugel

5 potatoes, peeled and diced

1 onion, diced

2 eggs The original recipe calls for 4 eggs. However, my friends wrote it for me about a sleepless night. She might have also written tomatoes instead of potatoes.

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

optional: 2 cloves garlic, minced

enough oil to cover the bottom of an 8×8 pan.

Process potatoes and onion. Mix in eggs, salt, and pepper. Spread just enough oil onto the bottom of the pan, pour in potato mixture. Bake at 400 for 90 minutes, or less as desired.

commentary

