Key Lime Pie. It’s all in the Limes, Not the Keys.

I like key lime soda, so I must like key lime pie. This linear thought process – plus the commendation of a taste-chemist – convinced me that the next Pie Week creation should be Key Lime Pie. Then I discovered that Key Lime Pie is made with cream. Cream, like butter, makes me gag. Thankfully, in this eco-friendly-hippy-dipppy-vegan era, there are non-cream Key Lime Pie recipes for my sort of people. I used one – or the basis of one – to make a darn good cream-free pie.

Key Lime Pie

8 oz or 1 package non-dairy cream cheese Trader Joe’s is clearly marked “This Is Not a Tub of Cream Cheese OU”

12 oz or one package silk tofu

1/3 cup key lime juice As the author later says, “Key limes are different than regular limes, they are more acidic and bitter.  Regular limes can be substituted without losing much integrity.” I couldn’t find the 2o key limes she says is needed for a full 1/3 cup in any New York City grocery store. I went with the regular limes and a little extra vanilla – as suggested by my friend the flavor-chemist.

1 cup powdered sugar

more than 1/2 tsp vanilla

1 tbsp lime zest I own a zester, which for obvious reasons is rarely used. You can bet I used more than a tbsp of zest. If you have a zester, I recommend you do the same. If you don’t have a zester, skip this step.

Combine non-dairy cream cheese and powdered sugar; add lime juice, vanilla, lime zest, and tofu.  Mix until smooth.

Pour into crust, and chill until firm, approximately 2 hours.

For an extra touch, top with lime zest and whipped cream.

 Graham Cracker Crust

1 packet graham crackers

olive oil, as needed

In a food processor, crush graham crackers. Drizzle olive oil on mixture until it can clump. Press into pie tin.

Makes a generous 9″ pie. Or a very generous 8″ pie plus a micro-mini pie.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: The Odds are Stacked in Favor of Pie « there is on whom to rely

commentary

