Chocolate Pudding

You were right. The tofu-based chocolate pudding is really good. I was wrong to publicly denigrate it, though I can explain how I erred. It was a simple misjudgment, a classic mistake – and one you immediately caught. Too few chocolate chips. Given, your instructions were vauge:

“literally, you blend the tofu, melt a bag of chocolate chips, and then blend that all together again until it’s really smooth and throw in some vanilla. then you let it sit in the fridge for two hours to set and then you serve it with berries. it’s delicious. ”

I didn’t trust you completely, so I only used 1/2 a loaf of tofu. With that change in your somewhat loose measurements, the “bag of chocolate chips” became 1 cup of chocolate chips. It was ok, but nothing to write home about. When you found out what I’d done you admitted that tofu pudding would always be tofu pudding; it would never fully lose that texture or flavor. However, you felt that with the right – and goodly – amount of chocolate chips it would be addictively good. I trust you when it comes to chocolate chips, so I gave it a second shot – this time with more chocolate chips. Now, I can’t say that I’m addicted, but I am convinced that this is a quality pudding. Thank you, Special Correspondent Ariella. You were right.

3 Comments

  1. i saw a similar thing, but in pie form. http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2011/09/06/the-ultimate-chocolate-fudge-pie/ i made it one time and it was ok-ish, i wouldnt make it again, because i knew that it was made out of tofu which is unappetizing to me. i couldnt tell if i would have liked it if i had tasted it and not known what it was made out of. also i wouldnt make it again because i think soy should only be eaten in very limited quatities (i already ranted about soy when you posted about babka, i would try to find it and post a link but i dont think anyone really cares to read it and i think it might have been on your old blog.

  2. Sometimes I feel like trying to make desserts healthy just defeats the purpose… Last night I cooked with tofu for the first time. I made tofu stir fry (inspired by you, Hannah).. it was really delicious. And I ended up making soo much that there was enough for lunch for both me and Benjie. Perfecto.

  3. Pingback: Processing Joy « there is on whom to rely

commentary

